About Us

The Northern Territory Tenpin Bowling Association Inc was formed at a meeting in Alice Springs during 1982 when some key tenpin sports administrators including Jim Polkinghorne, Mary Cutler, Phil Flood, Bob Franklin, Ron Yow, June Voukolos, Tony Long and Phil Flood met to prepare a vision for the sport between the two bowling centres in Darwin and Alice Springs.  From that time the Northern Territory Government has been a keen partner in the day to day running of the sport and tenpin bowling was the first sporting squad admitted to the Northern Territory Institute of Sport when it opened its doors in Darwin during 1997.  From that time we have stood side by side with our competitive southern states and in the sports arena no longer considered the “poor relative” but leaders in innovation of sport development and coaching services.

This Association has evolved from a group of inexperienced people passionately running the sport to a highly skilled group of volunteers and paid staff running a sporting business that focuses on the development of its athletes and the well being of its grass roots members.

The sport business is currently run by 5 hardworking Executive Assistants – Lea Kirwin, Chris Kirwin, Janine Matheson, Andrew Krink and Anja Taylor and a vibrant and active executive committee who supports them on a day to day basis in Alice Springs and Darwin.

There are two bowling centres currently operating in the Northern Territory – The Planet in Darwin and the Dustbowl in Alice Springs.



June Voukolos