About Holt

The Darrell Holt Restricted Challenge was formed in early January 2007 by a collection of ex-Walter de Veer bowlers who wished to keep an event of a similar format to the Walter de Veer Memorial Tournament on the calendar. Representatives from every state and territory travelled to Melbourne for this 2 day meeting at Quest Moonee Ponds. At this meeting, we created a 2 item agenda for the weekend;

  • Write a petition to the governing body, Tenpin Bowling Australia (TBA), asking them to re-instate the old Walter de Veer Tournament and outline the reasons, and
  • Formulate the rules for an alternate should the petition not be successful.

A petition was emailed to all TBA Board members and TBA State Managers following this meeting. As no responses were received, this group then created the event known as the Darrell Holt Restricted Challenge.

A steering committee was formed in the lead up to the first AGM, an entity was created and incorporated, website purchased, entry forms written, championship software purchased and the rolloffs began. In a little over 4 months all the zones had completed their rolloffs, booked accommodation, travel and uniforms etc. Of course, the rest is history, with a great inaugural event at AMF Craigie in Western Australia.

The first AGM was conducted while in Perth. The structure is such that there is currently a 5 person executive comprising a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Tournament Director. Each zone is a sub-entity of the national Holt Challenge Inc body, with one voting delegate from each zone as the elected ‘branch manager’ for that zone.

Team Photos

2021Restricted ~Classic ~
2020Restricted ~Classic ~
2018Restricted Classic
2017Restricted Classic
2016Restricted Classic
2015Restricted Classic
2014Restricted Classic
2013Restricted Classic
2012Restricted Classic
2011Restricted Classic
2010Restricted Classic
2009Restricted Classic
2008Restricted Classic

~ = cancelled